Brexit Notice

From 31st January 2020, the United Kingdom (UK) will no longer be a Member of the European Union (EU).  In view of the withdrawal agreement between the UK and the EU, a transitional period will enter into force as from the 31st January 2020, lasting until 31st December 2020 (*unless the UK and the EU agree to extend this by a further year or two).

In terms of social security, this means that the provisions of Regulation (EC) 883/2004) of the European Parliament and of the Council on the coordination of social security systems will continue to apply in respect of UK nationals insured under the Maltese social security scheme as well as Maltese nationals insured in the UK.

It is expected that the UK and the EU will negotiate their future relationship on social security matters for persons moving between the UK and the EU after the end of the transition period.

For more information contact Freephone number 153 ​or email​